Houston Dialogue on Public Libraries | List of Participants

Tentative List of Participants

*as of October 30, 2017



Amanda Edwards (Wednesday only)
Council Membera at Large
Houston City Council

Licia Green Ellis
Houston Public Library Foundation

Claudia Aguirre-Vasquez
Vice President

Lynn Henson
Administration Manager, Planning & Development Department
City of Houston

Julie Baker Finck
Barbara Bush Houston Literacy Foundation

Winell Herron
Vice President

Phyllis Bailey
3B Resources Group Public Relations

Zachary Hodges
Houston Community College Northwest

Peter Beard
Senior Vice President, Regional Workforce Development
Greater Houston Partnership

Risha Jones    
Deputy Director, Department of Health and Human Services
City of Houston

Veronica Chapa Gorczynski
Greater East End District

Sara Kellner
Director, Civic Art + Design
Houston Arts Alliance

Evelyn Dravis
Library Manager and FLIP Director
Children's Museum of Houston

Lester King
Research Scientist, School of Natural Sciences
Rice University

Melanie Fisk
Chief Executive Officer
Literacy Advance

Grenita Lathan
Chief Academic Officer
Houston Independent School District

Bill Fulton
Kinder Institute for Urban Research
Rice University

Mary Lawler
Executive Director
Avenue CDC

Amy Garmer
Director of the Aspen Institute Dialogue on
Public Libraries
The Aspen Institute


Laurie Covington
Deputy Assistant Director of Customer Experience
Houston Public Library

Rhea Lawson
Houston Public Library

Ophelia R. Gomes
Deputy Assistant Director of Organizational Development
Houston Public Library

Edward Melton
Harris County Public Library

Mary Hammond
Data Collections & Analyst
Specialist & Council Liaison
Houston Public Library

Laura Murillo
President & Chief Executive Officer
Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

John Middleton
Assistant Director of Spaces
Houston Public Library

Jim Nicholas
Market President, Commercial Banking
Capital One Bank

Ricardo Peralez
Assistant Director of Digital Strategies 
Houston Public Library

Tonyel Simon
Program Officer
Houston Endowment

Nicole Robinson
Assistant Director Community Education, Outreach, & Cultural Initiatives Division
Houston Public Library

Rhonda Skillern-Jones
Houston Independent School District Board

Elizabeth Sargent
Assistant Director of Customer Experience
Houston Public Library

Mark Smith
Director and Librarian
Texas State Library and Archives Commission

Hope Waobikeze
Deputy Assistant Director of Financial Services
Houston Public Library

Mike Temple
Executive Director
Workforce Solutions-Gulf Coast Workforce Board

Teresa Terry

Library Supporter

Amanda Timm
Executive Director
Local Initiatives Support Corporation


Dominique Harrison
Project Manager
Communications and Society Program
The Aspen Institute

Laurie Vignaud
Senior Vice President, Community Development Banking
Capital One Bank
Patrick Walsh
Director, Planning & Development Department
City of Houston


Back to Home   Agenda    Steering Committee   Background Materials   Event Photos